WHALE invites your nominations for its annual preservation achievement awards.

Has a historic property in your neighborhood been beautifully restored in the last year? Do you know a person or an organization whose work has had a big impact on the quality of life in Greater New Bedford? Or who has taken on seemingly impossible historic preservation projects, and succeeded?

Nominate them for a WHALE Award, to be presented at WHALE’s Annual Meeting on May 25 to be held at the Waypoint Event Center, New Bedford.  Just complete this nomination form Nomination Form.2016 Awards and send it to WHALE by email to info [at] waterfrontleague [dot] org or mail it to WHALE, 128 Union Street, New Bedford, MA 02740. The deadline for nominations is Tuesday, April 15.

Awards Nomination Form
Please find below:  Nomination form for WHALE’s 2016 Annual Preservation Awards and descriptions.
Nomination forms submission date is April 15.
Nomination Form.2016 Awards
Awards description

Past Awards Recipients
Please click on the link below to view awards presented at previous WHALE Annual Meetings:
1996-2015 Award_recipients (2)

The following are the WHALE Award categories:

Sarah R. Delano Preservation Awards
Awarded annually to individuals and organizations that have made outstanding contributions to the rehabilitation, restoration and interpretation of the historic character and environment of Greater New Bedford. Sarah Delano served as the second President of WHALE for 16 years. Her vision set a high standard for WHALE to follow. Her contributions live on in our memory.

Catherine Crapo Bullard Award
Awarded periodically to extraordinary individuals or organizations who have followed their hearts in pursuing nearly impossible preservation projects, Catherine Crapo Bullard was one of WHALE’s earliest supporters and was directly responsible for saving the Benjamin Rodman Mansion.

George C. Perkins President’s Award
Awarded to an individual or organization whose contributions have made a positive impact on the quality of life in Greater New Bedford. George C. Perkins is one of the founders of WHALE and served as the first president. His mission sustains us.

Carol Ann Juneau Volunteer Award
Awarded in memory of Carol Ann Juneau, WHALE’s Membership Director, to an individual or individuals who go above and beyond the call of duty and who donate invaluable products, services and expertise in order to further WHALE’s mission and programs.