Seamen’s Bethel and Mariners’ Home
Aimed at restoring and preserving two of the city’s most iconic buildings, the Waterfront Historic Area League and the New Bedford Port Society and have joined forces to collaborate on the restoration of the Historic Seamen’s Bethel and Mariners’ Home that will preserve and make accessible two historic treasures, provide a venue to honor New Bedford’s fishermen, and enhance the Whaling National Historical Park as a world-wide tourist destination.
The Port Society and WHALE’s plans are to open the Mariners’ Home as a Fishermen’s Museum to tell the story of New Bedford’s development as the number one fishing port in the country and to honor the fishermen who lost their lives at sea. The 2nd and 3rd floor of the Mariners’ Home will contain non-profit office space.
In order to raise the necessary funds for the project, the organizations have initiated a bold fundraising
campaign. Known as the Campaign for the Port Society Complex, the project’s comprehensive scope will include a complete restoration of the historic 1832 Seamen’s Bethel and the adjacent 1787 Mariners Home. Both buildings grace Johnny Cake Hill in the heart of the city’s nationally recognized historic district. When the restoration project is complete, the buildings will be fully handicapped accessible and connected with an enclosed walkway. The Bethel will house an educational room in the Saltbox for lectures and Children’s programming. The Chapel will remain a venue for weddings, funerals, memorials, and religious activities.
WHALE brings to the project the historic preservation and real estate development knowledge to facilitate the plan in collaboration with the project architect, the NB Port Society and the City of New Bedford.
The Campaign for
The Port Society Complex
The Port Society has joined forces with WHALE to form a partnership to develop plans and apply for financing to obtain the necessary funding for the $2 Million + preservation project. The Project
architect is JMBA+.